What follows is a listing of the complete Kadash cycle, books and stories, in chronological order.

Other Key Dates

  • Birthday: October 12, 1953.
  • Homicide detective: February 1999
  • Partners with Susan Mulvaney: February 2001
  • Diagnosed with bladder cancer: May 2006
  • Cancer is in remission; returns to work, light duty: September 2006
  • Retires from police: October 2006
  • Accelerant* (unnamed cameo): September 2011

September 1971

“Heat Death”

Skin’s origin story, in a sense, but without radioactive spiders or toxic waste. There is, however, a moose.

Unpublished at this time

December 2005

Lost Dog

  • Published by Midnight Ink, April 2007

The focus in this story is on Peter McKrall and his developing relationship with Ruby Jane Whittaker. Detective Skin Kadash makes his first appearance as well, one of two detectives investigating the series of murders in which Peter has become implicated.

Buy: B&N | Amazon | Powell’s | IndieBound

Learn More

August 2006

Chasing Smoke

  • Published by Bleak House Books, November 2008
    (Note: in the first edition of the Lost Dog, the book Death With Dignity is listed as forthcoming. Death With Dignity was the original working title of Chasing Smoke.)

Skin Kadash’s first solo outing, with appearances by Ruby Jane Whittaker as well as his partner, Detective Susan Mulvaney.

Buy: Nook | Kindle | Powell’s | IndieBound

Learn More

September 2006

“The Missus”

A brotherhood of cops, an 11-year-old boy accused of murder, and the crusty detective who broke ranks to sort it all out.

Read The Missus now on Kindle.

June 2007

“Coffee, Black”

In Portland Noir
edited by Kevin Sampsell

Now retired, Skin investigates vandalism at a Portland coffee shop with the help of Ruby Jane, and finds more than he bargained for.

Buy: B&N | Amazon | Powell’s | IndieBound

Learn More

October 31, 2007

“Sunlight Nocturne”

In Deadly Treats
edited by Anne Frasier

Skin spends the day with his neighbor and her little boy as police pursue home invaders in a dramatic citywide chase.

Buy: B&N | Amazon | Powell’s | IndieBound

Learn More

November 2007 (and August 2004)

Day One

Set both during Skin’s days as a homicide detective and in the period after he retires, Skin finds himself entangled in a crime with roots going back years. Ruby Jane and Susan Mulvaney are part of the tale.

Buy: B&N | Amazon | Powell’s | IndieBound

Learn More

April 2008

“The Last Ship”

In West Coast Crime Wave
edited by Brian Thornton

  • Published by BSTSLLR, October 2011

Skin travels to the Oregon Coast to recover from the events of Day One and finds himself embroiled in strange local doings.

Buy: Nook | Kindle

Learn More

April – May, 2008 and 1988-89

County Line

Skin seeks out the missing Ruby Jane, whose disappearance is tied to events which transpired twenty years previously. Peter McKrall returns to help in the search.

Buy: B&N | Amazon | Powell’s | IndieBound

Learn More

Mid-90s through 2014

“Daisy and the Desperado”

Skin is thrust into the middle of a decades-long feud between irascible neighbors.

Buy: Amazon

In Murder at the Beach, the Bouchercon 2014 Anthology, edited by Dana Cameron and published by Down and Out Books.

We use cookies in order to give you the best possible experience on our website. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies.